Review of Murray McDonald’s latest release, America’s Trust

91UkuYuVSEL._SL1500_

Murray McDonald has been a long time writer and friend, eventually introducing me to “good scotch” made in a distillery (Glengoyne) just north of the Scottish highland line. This alone was worthy of his inclusion in my Friends Hall of Fame (I just made up that organization).

Beyond picking out fantastic scotch, his true talent lies in his writing. He can spin a masterful, international thriller. I’ve been waiting a long time for his latest novel, America’s Trust. If you’re a fan of this genre, you won’t be disappointed. If you’re a fan of scotch, let me know, and I’ll pass the word to him for another recommendation. Sipping scotch and reading political thrillers is hard to beat.

Below is my review of America’s Trust…not influenced by the scotch:

Murray McDonald delivers an epic political technothriller with America’s Trust, combining the best elements of his previous novels, in an explosive, action packed ride that never eases up. Incorporating themes ripped from today’s headlines, and foretelling of a believable near future, Murray presents his finest work to date. This well-crafted, cautionary tale will leave you breathless; pondering the extent to which McDonald’s wildly realistic scenario could become reality.

The story begins with a flashback. President King’s Inauguration Day is a melancholy event. The United States is in a steep economic decline, deep in debt with little hope of recovery. Upon returning to the Oval Office after a private ceremony, he is informed of a meeting that had been scheduled by President William Howard Taft, over one hundred years ago. He is promptly met by a representative of “America’s Trust,” who proceeds to pass instructions that will irrevocably alter the course of American history.

Two years later, CIA analyst Tom Butler makes a startling discovery. The “Trust” may not be what it seems. Powerful forces converge to silence him, setting in motion the wheels of McDonald’s unstoppable story. Spanning the globe, America’s Trust presents twists after twist, propelling the reader to the shocking revelation. What is the Trust? The truth is brilliant…one of the most frightening scenarios imaginable.

Murray McDonald’s America’s Trust is a must read for fans of Tom Clancy, Brad Thor or the late Vince Flynn.  A perfect blend of techno/military/political thriller.

“Trust” no one.

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Promotion

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s